2021 SMPA Board of Directors Election Results

Covid may have halted online meetings, but not the fulfilling of director duties spelled out in the Seattle Metro Pickleball Association (SMPA) Bylaws. The Board selection committee recommended three new directors to replace termed-out director and SMPA President Jerry Kindinger, and directors who’ve stepped down for family and professional reasons, Tom Grubb and Sean Oldridge. In the online election that followed, these new Directors received the overwhelming majority of member votes and have now joined the SMPA Board:

  • Jessica Prince (Mercer Island), subsequently elected Secretary of the Board
  • Fran Myer (Kenmore), Pickleball Hall of Fame and local legend
  • Sarah Webb (Seattle), retired pathologist and organizer of Miller CC pickleball

At the next Board meeting, held Monday, May 10, the Board said goodbye to the departing directors and elected these officers to guide the organization until Spring of 2022:

  • Frank Chiappone, President
  • Theresa Haynie, Vice President
  • Jessica Webb, Secretary
  • Drew Thoresen, Treasurer